UCL Academy, London, UK

University College London (UCL)

UCL was formed in 1826 and was the first university institution to be founded in London. UCL is today the leading multidisciplinary university in London, and has some 8,000 staff and 22,000 students, making it the largest of London University's colleges. Overseas students account for a third of students. UCL is regularly ranked as one of the top universities in the UK, Europe and the world. In two 2009 ranking surveys, UCL was ranked 3rd in Europe and 4th in the world, respectively. UCL’s alumni include 21 Nobel prizewinners, the most recent being Charles K. Kao, who received the Nobel Prize for Physics in 2009. UCL has a number of halls of residence located in central and north London. The main campus where students gather for lectures and study is in Bloomsbury, central London.