skip to Main Content
 +46 8 791 8944

Temple University

Temple University was originally founded in 1884 as "Temple College". The school was re-named Temple University in 1907 and has evolved into a comprehensive public research university.

Temple University has nearly 40,000 students who are able to choose from 9 campuses and over 300 academic degree programs. Temple’s 186-acre campus in suburban Ambler offers programs in community and regional planning, horticulture, landscape architecture and others. At the school's Fort Washington, Harrisburg and Center City Philadelphia locations, students can take a wide variety of undergraduate, graduate and non-credit courses.

Temple also boasts a large and robust study abroad program with campuses in Rome and Tokyo, programs in London, Beijing, Paris, Mumbai and other sites.

The law school

The Temple University James E. Beasley School of Law is the official, affiliated law school of Temple University which has operated continuously since being founded in 1895. The school, often informally referred to as Temple Law School, is located on the main Campus of Temple University in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.

In recent years, Temple Law has placed continued emphasis on developing "real world" skills among its students, who are encouraged to participate in intensive Trial Advocacy or Transactional programs, as well as clinics.

The Law School annually enrolls approximately 240 students in the full-time day division program, and approximately 60 students in the part-time evening division program. The large majority of entering students have at least one year of work experience prior to enrolling.
Temple Law School currently employs over 60 full-time faculty members and employs numerous, established local attorneys as adjunct professors.

Tuition fees

Tuition (for non-Pennsylvania residents) is over $30,000 for full-time students or $1,250 per credit for part-time students.

Pennsylvania residents pay roughly half of the above-stated tuition.

Entry Requirements

To qualify for admission to this program, applicants must have earned their first law degree (LLB or equivalent) or advanced degree (LLM or higher) outside the United States. Those admitted will have excellent law school records, strong letters of recommendation, and English competence as demonstrated by the Personal Statement. The Admissions Committee carefully examines all parts of the application. The LLM program does not require applicants to take the LSAT, however they do require the TOEFL or equivalent English assessment exam.

The Program

The Master of Laws (LL.M.) program for foreign-trained lawyers is designed for international attorneys, government officials, corporate legal counsel, and recent law graduates who are interested in receiving a degree in American law, learning about the U.S. legal system, and becoming leaders in the global market.

The LL.M. for foreign-trained lawyers program was established in 1974, demonstrating that Temple has been educating international lawyers with great success for over 30 years. Today, there are over 600 LL.M. graduates using their Temple legal education to practice and teach throughout the world.

Students are given the freedom to design a program of study tailored to their interests. With the exception of two required courses, you may select from over 180 courses in U.S. and international law offered each year. Temple offers its LL.M. students a flexible program that can be tailored to their varied needs and interests, as well a specialized degree or a certificate in Taxation.

Temple's LL.M. students even have exclusive classes that cater to their needs. During the fall semester, students are introduced to the US legal system through a practical Legal Research and Writing program, where they learn basic American legal research techniques and develop legal writing skills. During the second semester, they apply these newly-developed skills to write a research paper on a topic of their choice.

Some international students choose Temple's LL.M. program because of the unique opportunities it offers for travel and international study. Students in the LL.M. program may spend one semester in the United States and one semester at the law department of Temple's campus in Tokyo or a summer at Temple's program in Rome.

Close search


Back To Top

Expand your Legal English vocabulary word by word

Online and free each and every week!