Monash University

Monash University is a public university located in Melbourne, Victoria which was established in 1958. The university is named after prominent Australian Sir John Monash. Monash is a member of Australia's Group of Eight and is continually ranked among the top-ranked universities in the world in various world rankings. Monash has approximately 39,000 undergraduate and 16,000 graduate students, which results in its being the largest university in Australia. In recent decades, Monash has continued to develop a wide range of courses in arts, commerce, engineering, education, law, medicine and science. The university has also managed to establish new buildings and create a thriving cultural atmosphere with outstanding performing arts and concert programs and a growing collection of contemporary Australian art.