Leiden University

Founded in 1575, with over 18,000 students and 4,000 staff members to date, Leiden University is the oldest university in the Netherlands.  It was the first university in the Netherlands to practice freedom of belief and religion, as reflected in the university's motto, Praesidium Libertatis, Bastion of Liberty. It was this atmosphere of freedom of speech that provided the right environment for philosophers such as Spinoza and Descartes to develop their ideas. Leiden itself is a typical university city, with the university permeating the local surroundings; University premises are scattered throughout the city, and the students who live and study in Leiden give the city its relaxed yet vibrant atmosphere. The University is made up of 6 faculties, a School of Education, and a Campus in The Hague. Leiden University has over 50 departments and more than 150 undergraduate programs, and it enjoys an outstanding international reputation. Leiden University collaborates in a wide range of partnerships, through which it are able to amass expertise across the borders of disciplines and academic fields. Interdisciplinary collaboration is not restricted to scientific fields within the University; the school also has partnerships with other research institutions, non-profit organisations, government authorities and the business sector.