skip to Main Content
 +46 8 791 8944

Cornell University

Cornell University is a private university located in Ithaca, New York in the United States. The school is a member of the prestigious Ivy League colleges.

Cornell was founded in 1865 and offers curricula in traditional liberal arts studies as well as in fields like engineering, agriculture, hotel administration, and city and regional planning. The university is broadly organized into seven undergraduate colleges and seven graduate divisions at its main Ithaca campus—for example, the College of Arts and Sciences and the College of Engineering—with each college and division defining its own academic programs in near autonomy.

Cornell is one of two private land grant universities, and its seven undergraduate colleges include three state-supported statutory or contract colleges. The university also administers two satellite medical campuses, one in New York City and one in Education City, Qatar.

On the Ithaca campus alone nearly 20,000 students representing every state and 120 countries choose from among 4,000 courses in 11 undergraduate, graduate, and professional schools. Many undergraduates participate in a wide range of interdisciplinary programs, play meaningful roles in original research, and study in Cornell programs in Washington, New York City, and the world over.

The law school

Cornell Law School is also located in Ithaca, New York and is one of the graduate schools of Cornell University. It is one of the five Ivy League law schools and has a student to faculty ratio of over 10 to 1.

Cornell Law School is a small, top-tier law school located in stunning surroundings of natural beauty. The school enrolls only 195-199 JD students and 60-70 graduate LL.M. students each year to ensure a close knit academic environment.

Tuition fees

Entry Requirements

The LL.M. program is highly selective and limited to fifty-five to sixty-five students each year out of approximately 1,000 applicants.

The Program

The program normally consists of twenty credits of law study (two semesters) at Cornell Law School. There are no specific course requirements. Instead, students can choose courses from the law school's existing curriculum.

Faculty advisors and the assistant dean for graduate legal studies help students design a course of study tailored to meet their unique educational goals.

In addition to the course work, students must include one three-credit seminar with a substantial writing component, a three-credit paper supervised by a faculty member, or a five-credit master's thesis.

Courses in other divisions of the university are also available to LL.M. students.

Close search


Back To Top

Expand your Legal English vocabulary word by word

Online and free each and every week!