skip to Main Content
 +46 8 791 8944

Catholic University of America

Located near the heart of Washington, DC, The Catholic University of America is the national university of the Catholic Church and the only higher education institution founded by the US bishops.

The university was founded in 1887 with the support of Pope Leo XIII. Originally established as a graduate research center, the university began offering undergraduate education in 1904. Currently, the university is made up of 12 schools and 21 research facilities, with approximately 3,470 undergraduate and 3,240 graduate students. Eighty-eight percent of undergraduates and 61 percent of graduate students are Catholic.

The university itself is located on a bucolic 193-acre campus, which located just north of Capitol Hill in Washington DC. Its central location provides students with easy access to the wide range of educational, cultural and political opportunities that Washington, DC has to offer.

The law school

The School of Law at The Catholic University of America has welcomed students and faculty of all faiths ever since its inception in 1897. The school is often referenced as the Columbus School of Law because of its alliance with an early program of legal education supported by the Knights of Columbus. The Columbus School of Law has been accredited by the Association of American Law Schools since 1921 and the American Bar Association since 1925.

The CUA law faculty are well-recognized for their teaching and scholarly distinction throughout a comprehensive and well-structured curriculum. The law school takes full advantage of its strategic location just minutes from the Congress and the Supreme Court by enlivening required study with presentations by national and international decision-makers, either as adjunct faculty or distinguished lecturers. The law school's alumni serve in both high elective and appointed office and as principals in law firms and businesses across the nation.

The Columbus School of Law occupies a state-of-the-art facility completed in 1994.
Students at Catholic University have the best of both worlds: they generally study and live on the largest campus (193 acres) in Washington, DC, where they can enjoy a complete collegiate experience, but they are also located in the heart of the nation's capital. Traveling by Metrorail, which is near the edge of campus, students are only a 10-minute ride away from Union Station, Capitol Hill and the Library of Congress, and within easy reach of the abundant array of educational, cultural, social, political and professional opportunities that Washington has to offer.

Tuition fees

Approximately $40,000 for full-time students.

Entry Requirements

Applicants must generally have either a J.D. from an ABA-accredited law school or, for international applicants, an equivalent undergraduate law degree. International students who are non-native English speakers must also offer proof of the necessary level of English.

The Program

The Columbus School of Law LLM program is an advanced program of legal study that is tailored to the needs of the individual student. Students taking an LLM are mentored by a member or members of the faculty, and plan a course of study in one of the following concentrations: Communications Law, Securities Law, Jurisprudence or Comparative and International Law.

In order to earn the LLM degree, students must complete 24 credits. Students may enroll full-time or part-time. Full-time students can complete the program in one academic year while part-time students can complete the program in one and a half years or three semesters. Students may enroll in an array of upper division courses, seminars, directed research and writing tutorials, legal externships, skills training and clinical courses. At least 16 of the required credits must be directly related to the concentration area, while remaining credits may be earned by taking general electives. LL.M. students with a U.S. or Canadian first degree are required to take at least one course with a writing component as part of their course work.

International students must take a legal research and writing course which will familiarize them with the American legal system and ensure proficiency in American legal analysis and writing. International students may be required to take a first-year common law course and they are encouraged to select at least one upper division course which requires completion of a paper or other written work product.

Students who successfully complete all academic requirements receive a General Masters of Law degree with a concentration in a specialized course of study.

Catholic U also runs a joint LLM Program in American and International Business and Trade Law, which is offered In co-operation with the Jagiellonian University in Krakow, Poland.

Expand your Legal English vocabulary word by word

Online and free each and every week!

Word of the week
Close search
Back To Top